Luci Gui improvement needed

Hello. First time posting here, I don't know if it's the right place. If it's not, I'm sorry.

I just wanted to share some feedback regarding my experience with LEDE so far.

This is a great community with a lot of information and many great people who are willing to help with any issues. After making the decision to go with LEDE instead of the others. I spent some time learning the many features that are available and how to use them. Some are easier than others. I realize that LEDE is a great project however if you're a complete noob, it's kinda hard to take advantage of the many features available. From my personal experience, I think Luci GUI if improve, would be a great help for us noobs. For example, VPN is one feature that's very popular, everyone is trying protect their privacy from ISP snooping. However the way to set it up is very confusing. The Luci interface is no help to configure vpn service and others like DNS encryption. I believe a lot of features of LEDE are being missed especially noobs because of confusing and lack of information from the User Interface. I don't know if there are any plans to add these features and improvements. I just thought I would share my experience so far.

Thanks!

2 Likes

You are write, but it's finding some one who would like to work on it. I was on about this to a fue people the other day in regards to setting up USB drives on OpenWRT. It can be verry hard. The interface will not help you to understand what partitions you have on a drive or even if your filesystem has the rite driver or package installed. same gos for setting up things like ddns or dnscrypt.

1 Like

OpenWrt/LEDE seems to be UCI driven, so I would not expect any improvements in LuCI anytime soon.

@tapper I was trying to do this the other day I couldn't do it so I gave up on it. It's one of the reasons I wanted to share my feedback with the community.