Pros cons of using an x86 laptop

Sorry, newbie here with basic questions.

Is there any advantage in the hardware of a wireless router (antenna, etc) that a laptop doesn't have? Would I need to attach external wireless hardware to a laptop, to make it comparable to that of a wireless router?

If I were to use a laptop, would openwrt be the best software to use? Is openwrt specialized for hardware with low system resources, such that there would be better router software to use on an x86 machine?

first major cons for me would be power consumption of a laptop running 24/7 vs small wifi router

I suggest you read this thread: Converting a surplus x86 into an OpenWrt router

Using an old desktop PC makes it easier to add additional Ethernet ports, but the general discussion should apply. Considering the power usage vs buying a new (used) device to get your feet wet with this type of projects is probably not the really discussion here.

A lot would depend on the WiFi card in the laptop. Is it capable of being used as AP. Does you “old” laptop have fast ethernet or gigabit speed. Then what type and speed internet do you have. The above thread should give you a good idea.

1 Like

using a wifi device with external antenna will probably give you better signal than the laptops builtin wifi... depends :slight_smile:

software wise, openwrt should be fine and give a good/familiar ui, but aside from features there should not be significant differences.

power consumption of my laptop in idle (with wifi and display) is around 7 watts according to powertop. about as much as a typical router. so, again, depends on your hardware.

1 Like

Most laptop wireless cards are designed to be used on a single band at a time, and as clients, not as APs. Even though labeled as "dual-band", that means 2.4 GHz or 5 GHz.