Is it possible for QoS to prioritize a device?

I'm sorry if this has been asked before.
As far as I know cake tries to distribute the available bandwidth fairly between IP-addresses.
Is it possible to prioritize a device (e.g my gaming console) and share the excess ?

short answer: no

long answer:
cake itself does not, by choice.
fair-queueing should "shield" your gaming console from lag-spikes induced by other activity in your network by default.

if it does not, you should clarify :wink:

you can modify sqm-scripts to have seperate classes.

2 Likes

In my experience, SQM QoS with 'cake' works much better than any device specific QoS configuration.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply. Is there a tutorial or a guide so I can try this? I'm not that good with linux.

https://lede-project.org/docs/howto/sqm

1 Like