[Info] Limiting Download Speed based on MAC

I am a noob in iptables so please bear with me. I found an article relating to iptables and hashlimit here. The article specifies some iptables rules to limit a specific host's download speed through dropping packets.

I have seen so many posts on internet about people asking for QOS in openwrt where they can limit the download speeds for specific host or device(s) on their local network. Thanks to the original blog's owner, I was able to do it with the script provided below.

I created the script for myself but you can edit it and use for yourself as you please...

The script is available here. I am using Sqm QOS already and this script creates another layer of QOS scripting for certain users on my network limiting their maximum speeds according to 2 groups that I created in the script. The script contains 2 groups: 1) Slow 2) Medium, There is place to put 5 users per group but you can add more and also add more rules according to your needs.

Please dont hesitate to improve the script and post your results here. Any improvement will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

4 Likes

See if anything noted here is helpful:
https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/traffic-shaping/packet.scheduler

LP,
Jure

Not sure why I needed to re-register as a new user but heh-ho...

Great script-works as advertised.I did find restarting the firewall before any of the rules were implemented/changed seemed to help

sleep 2
/etc/init.d/firewall restart
sleep 2

Also, I take it this speed limit will apply across the LAN network, as well as the WAN? My ultimate goal is to be able to rate limit users on a per MAC basis-but only on the incoming WAN-I dont care if they go full throttle across the LAN. Can this script be adjusted in that way easily?