Afoundry EW1200

Hi,

I am new to LEDE, but I have very decent computer knowledge. I am very familiar with flashing devices like routers to the latest firmware from the manufacturer.

I bought the AFoundry EW1200 router because it was a relatively cheap powerhouse! I ended up really dissapointed because this router requires very frequent reboots to simply stay connected to the internet. There has never been any firmware update from the manufacturer (I have 5.4 installed) and support is horrible. So I wanted a better solution like LEDE or OpenWRT.

I found the Techdata page for my router: https://lede-project.org/toh/hwdata/afoundry/afoundry_ew1200

From your instructions, my understanding is that since my router is running the original manufacturer's firmware, I should be flashing using the file under "Firmware LEDE Install URL" in my router's TechData page.

Can I install LEDE simply by downloading this file, logging on my router's Web interface, going to System - Firmware upgrade, browse to file, upgrade? Or do I need to do some kind of special telnet like command? If so, do I need to do this via the RS232 interface with some special software to connect to it?

Thanks

The git commit that the device page links to has the instructions on how to flash.

The device page is the bare minimum we have about support status in LEDE, if I understand correctly there should also be a regular wiki entry for the corresponding device, with more info (and device specific instructions). That is, if someone created that; it's not generated automatically.

Thanks for your reply. I was scared this would get highly complicated / risky of bricking the device!

I can't seem to find a Wiki page on this router. Here are the "instructions" on how to flash this router from the page you linked:

Firmware update page on the stock web interface can not accept sysupgrade
images, it bricks the device.
At this point, the only working solution I found was to connect to the